Board of Directors

HeartLands Conservancy is governed by a Board of Directors and five committees – Governance, Internal Affairs, External Affairs, Land Conservation, and Building Greener Communities.

Our Board Members bring a wealth of experience and – most importantly – a passion for natural resources and conservation in southwestern Illinois. The work of our organization would not be possible without their dedication and volunteerism.


  • Robert J. Hilgenbrink, Chair, Illinois Green Economy Network
  • E. William Reichert, Vice-Chair, EWR Architects
  • Ronda Latina, Second Vice-Chair, Environmental Operations, Inc.
  • Stephen Parrish, Treasurer, Farmers & Merchants Bank
  • Robert Nelson, Secretary, Nelson & Nelson Attorneys at Law
  • William Boardman, Land Conservation Committee Chair, Firehouse Contracting
  • Nancy Larson, Harter, Larson & Dodd
  • William Armstrong, Retired International Finance
  • Dawnesha Johnson, IL American Water, External Committee Chair
  • Brenda Chandler, Buy-A-Farm Land & Auction Co.
  • Robert Knobeloch, St. Louis Prompters, LLC
  • Charles Meier, Illinois State Representative
  • Cliff Schuette, Schuette Seed Company

Sign Up for Our Newsletter

HeartLands Conservancy produces a quarterly newsletter and a montnly e-newsletter which highlights important activities, including places we’ve protected, projects that we’re undertaking, pending legislation, and much more. Becoming more informed on environmental issues and resources within the region allows individuals to make more informed decisions and be a part of the planning process for our future.